IPL 2020 UAE: List of all Orange Cap Winning Batsmen in IPL History
August 12, 2020 | By - Amit

IPL 2020 UAE: List of all Orange Cap Winning Batsmen in IPL History

Indian Premier League is all set to begin in UAE as BCCI recently made it official that the tournament will be held between 19 September to 10 November 2020. Fans across the world are eagerly waiting to see their favourite players in action.   The Orange Cap is one of the most prestigious achievements in IPL that every batsman wants to wear with pride. The top run-getters of the IPL hold the coveted Orange Cap throughout the season and one highest run-scorer takes cap home at the end of the tournament. Brendon McCullum was the first player to wear Orange Cap and Shaun Marsh became the first winner to take home this award.    Take a look at the Orange Cap Winners in the IPL history.  

SHAUN MARSH (Kings XI Punjab, 2008)

  Shaun Marsh was the man who gave a perfect start of the first season of India Premier League in 2008. Rajasthan Royal took the trophy home but stylish left-handed batsman Marsh grabbed first Orange Cap in the first IPL tournament.    Playing for his franchise Kings Xi Punjab, Marsh scored 611 runs in just 11 matches of the tournament. He also smashed one brilliant century against Rajasthan Royals and five fifties in the tournament.  

MATTHEW HAYDEN (Chennai Super Kings, 2009)

  Australian left-handed batsman Matthew Hayden shined in the second tournament of IPL that was held in South Africa due to Indian general elections in 2009. With 572 runs from 12 matches of the tournament, the left-handed Aussie player became the highest run aggregator in the tournament. He also registered five-century while playing for Chennai Super Kings led by MS Dhoni.  

SACHIN TENDULKAR (Mumbai Indians, 2010)  

Sachin Tendulkar was the first Indian cricketer in IPL who took the Orange Cap home in 2010. Mumbai Indians captain smashed the ball every corner of the grounds throughout that season. With an average of 47.53, Master Blaster scored 618 runs in the tournament from 15 games, including five half-centuries.  

CHRIS GAYLE (Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2011 and 2012)

  The big hitter Chirs Gayle is the only IPL player who grabbed the Orange Cap twice in consecutive years while playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011 and 2012. Gayle’s fans did not enjoy Universe Boss’ batting while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders for three years. But he did not look back ever since he joined the RCB.  Gayle won his first Orange Cap in the fourth season of the tournament as he scored 608 in just 12 matches. While he made 733 runs with seven fifties in the fifth tournament of IPL.  

MICHAEL HUSSEY (Chennai Super Kings, 2013)

  Chennai Super Kings (CSK) reached the final with the help of Michael Hussey’s colossal performance in the sixth IPL tournament. Left-handed hitter Hussey was the highest run aggregator of the season who scored 733 runs from 17 matches. Mr Cricket also made six fifties in IPL 2013.  

ROBIN UTHAPPA (Kolkata Knight Riders, 2014)

  Kolkata took the trophy home for the first time in the seventh season of IPL tournament under the captaincy of Robin Uthappa. With five brilliant half-centuries, Uthappa registered 660 runs from 16 matches at an average of 44.   

DAVID WARNER (Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2015)

  Warner, who always prefers to be silent on the ground, is one of the biggest hitters with the cricket bat. He was the highest score aggregator and the first Orange Cap winner for Sunrisers in the eighth tournament of IPL. The southpaw scored 562 runs in just 14 games. He also registered seven fifties with his lethal batting style.    

VIRAT KOHLI (Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2016)

  RCB captain Virat Kohli, who shined throughout the IPL season, scored 973 runs with his four centuries and seven fifties. Virat Kohli helped RCB to take his team to the final of the season but was not able to win against Sunrisers in 2016.      

DAVID WARNER (Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2017)

  The left-handed Austrian again proved that he has a lot of cricket left in him. Skipper Warner, who made 641 runs from 14 games,  was the leading scorer in 2015 of IPL season. After Gayle, he became second to grab the Orange Cap in T20 IPL history.   

KANE WILLIAMSON (Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2018)

   In 2018, Williamson led the Sunrisers in absence of Warner and helped the team to take the final in the IPL tournament. Skipper took his first Orange Cap home after scoring 735 runs from 17 games at an average of 52.50 including eight half-centuries. 

DAVID WARNER (Sunrisers Hyderabad, 2018)

  Warner back to the tournament in 2019 of IPL season after serving one year ban. In just 12 games southpaw scored 692 runs and eight fifties in the season and again helped his team to take in the final against Mumbai Indians. And this time Warner became the third batsman to win Orange Cap in IPL history.  Who will wear the orange cap in this season? We all are waiting to witness the same. Don't forget to save some popcorn in September, as everyone will stick to their television and enjoy the final comeback of IPL in 2020.    Read More: Top 7 Companies in Race for IPL 2020 Title Sponsorship
appstore playstore